Lennar Sends Home Inspection Reports | My Lennar Home

Mark Metheny of Lennar Sends Inspection Reports Plus Initial Call

On April 30, 2017, and after more than a month and half of Lennar’s initial home inspection of more than 80 construction issues, Mark Metheny sends the results of the reports. We had a call scheduled on May 2, 2017, to discuss the results. The call was scheduled to have Mark Metheny and me in attendance.

mark metheny lennar home inspection report results april 30 2017

Mark Metheny sends initial results of the Lennar home inspection reports. The initial home inspection took place more than a month and a half before in March 2017.

Email from Mark Metheny of Lennar:

In preparation for our call, attached please find the Koning Construction Consultants, Edmonson Electric and Bayonet Plumbing, Heating & A/C reports concerning your home on Yeats Manor Drive. I know that you are interested in keeping things moving forward, therefore we are pleased to inform you that although we are under no obligation to perform the work, Lennar is willing to address many of the items you requested in your original 558 Notice to WCI and your subsequent requests to Lennar.

In exchange for Lennar’s willingness to perform this work, we will require that you execute the attached Work Authorization and Release. Once I receive the properly executed Work Authorization and Release, we can begin scheduling the work to commence on a mutually agreeable date.

You’ll note that Exhibit A is all of the items that you raised, and Exhibit B is the list of items that we agree to address, we are happy to share more details with you, but trying to keep the list direct. You will also note that the release would not become effective until we test the indoor air quality.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mark Metheny

Tampa Division President


Although I have a very Lennar Homes construction issues spreadsheet, Lennar decided to break everything up into separate documents. The first thing I needed to do was confirm that everything made it into their documents. Of course, there were many items missing or inconsistent from the original spreadsheet.

Here are the documents that Mark Metheny of Lennar sent regarding the ongoing construction issues and inspection report documents. Note that these were revised for another meeting that was scheduled later in May. These are the most recent documents with my notes. The original release and authorization had no indication of temporary relocation.

What you will find are inconsistencies between the documents. I still don’t understand why Lennar decided to organize these in separate documents when all of us were working and tracking productively from the original construction issues spreadsheet. It’s these types of instances that make me wonder if Lennar deliberately tries to make things confusing and frustrating.

My responses to Mark Metheny construction issues and inspection report documents:

email to mark metheny lennar april 30 2017

My initial email to Mark Metheny regarding the inspection reports from ongoing construction problems in a new construction home.

Mark,

Thank you. I don’t have time to review now and also need it reviewed. Are you good with changing our meeting to Thursday and extending time for it?

I skimmed Exhibit B and one of the major issues that I did not see is the placement of the exhaust pipes on the roof and the angle of the dryer exhaust. As you’ll see in the same models built at the time, all of them are much different than mine in placement.

Thank you for this and let me know if Thursday works.

Kris


I then sent him another email indicating that we should keep our scheduled call for May 2, 2017, at 3 PM EST.

email to mark metheny lennar april 30 2017 keep scheduled call inspection reports

Email to Mark Metheny of Lennar indicating we should keep our originally scheduled call.

Before our call on May 2, 2017, I sent this email to Mark Metheny. It was an alarming issue with the dishwasher and metal corrosion and rusting that continued throughout the house.

email mark metheny metal corrosion dishwasher fire

Email to Mark Metheny of Lennar before May 2, 2017, call indicating continued issues with metal corrosion and rusting throughout the house.

Mark,
Something else to discuss. This was my dishwasher this morning. The second picture was taken years back and shows the metal corroding and rusting. I believe you’ve seen that one.

May 2, 2017, conference call with Lennar’s Mark Metheny

May 2, 2017, I had a 55-minute conversation with Mark Metheny, regarding the inspection reports. I walked through how I could not sell this home and that is not my fault. He continued to tell me he would do what he could.

I told him I could not sign an authorization that gave me no rights unless I was made “whole in this.” By whole, I explained getting my investment back and being able to sell at market value without penalty as the issues were ongoing and not my fault. There were many ways to make this happen – not just a potential buyout of the house from Lennar. I indicated to him that this release took away my voice. My voice was one of the few things I still had left in this horrible new home construction nightmare.

mark-metheny-lennar-may-2-call-log

Call log from May 2, 2017, call with Lennar’s Mark Metheny. It lasted 55 minutes.

Next Lennar communication: First Conference Call to Review Lennar Home Inspections – Nothing But Confusion Results

Previous Lennar communication: Lennar After Inspections: We’ll Get Back to You Whenever